Work-in-progress: cut-out doll

This is a continuation on the outline sketch I had on the previous page. I think the last of these is really very effective at conveying the idea of the beauty ideal.

It was a little trickier just to stick with white and blue and black on this one. I used the same shading technique – “markering” in shaded areas and the outlining them in black, but this didn’t stand out from the background enough, so I had to do some cross-hatching to separate the two.

Overall, I really do like it, and it keeps growing on me. The only concern I have is that it doesn’t mesh with the previous two very well. I was hoping that colour similarity would be enough to tie them together, but it doesn’t appear that way.

Maybe incorporate another colour throughout the series as well?

Leave a Reply

