I don’t know if this is any good, but at least it’s more interesting.

Sooo I decided to stop being so precious with my interpretation of my theme.. and just.. draw stuff as it comes up in my head.

Here I’m making use of my really really bright, intentionally garish colours again.

I also wanted to try a more up-close viewpoint and angle – I wanted to invoke a sense of a first person view, that the viewer is invading the figure’s personal space.

The figure here is still a doll, but not necessarily putting itself together; I guess the focus is more on scrutiny in this image than anything else.

I do like the way this looks. I don’t know why, I can’t put my finger on it, it’s not even finished.

I’ve started to imagine that these images are intended for an editorial piece on the strictness of female beauty standards/objectification/sexualisation. It makes it a lot easier for me to step back and think more clearly about how I can make an effective image on a visual level, and not work purely conceptually.

Also of note.. I’ve kept all of the layers visible as a visual record of the figure’s development. Branching off from my fixation on doll parts as blueprints or components, this is a different approach to the same idea. Showing all of the steps necessary to create something.

Leave a Reply

