Colours..

These worked well the last time I focused a project on beauty standards – it highlights “sleaze” culture, as well as referencing gossip magazines..

So keeping with the doll theme, I decided to combine the two..

Unfinished, but I wanted to post it. The general idea behind this is that the viewer has a choice between the three face fronts, which – while having superficial differences in coloration – are actually the same face.

Meant to emphasise a lack of choice when it comes to beauty presentation, and… I guess it doesn’t work especially well, but I got this image in my head in the middle of the night and I thought I ought to get it down.

Regarding the colour palette – I really like working with a limited palette, as evidenced in the last post. I think it presents an interesting challenge, and gives me kind of a basis to form the rest of my image from.

Leave a Reply

