Various

These are all images I used as research for the Narrative unit last year. Because I am again looking into beauty standards, I’ve found that these apply for my current project as well.

The image on the top left I find to be particularly inspiring; the abnormal angle creates interest, and the lines suggest a complexity that seems beyond the capability of such a minimal colour palette.

The next two I find interesting because of the use of colour to emphasise the figures’ lips. The second of these is especially interesting, stylistically, as the text to the right of the figure gives context to this subtle emphasis, and confirms that it is, in fact, intentional.

The fourth, I find inspiring not due to the style of drawing, but on the literal depiction of decapitation; effectively, the removal of any sense of identity from the body, resulting in pure objectification.

Leave a Reply

