Little Tiger Cub

I took the design from the little collage leopard guy I made a while ago and came up with this:

This is going to be my main character for the book, I think. I like the idea of using a tiger, because it doesn’t have any particular masculine or feminine associations, as many others do.

For this image, I used a lightbox to trace a dip pen over a pencil sketch of him. I am not entirely sure how I feel about the use of dip pen – it’s something I hadn’t used before, but it was mentioned in the Bloomsbury book as a common technique, so I thought I’d give it a try.

I cleaned up the lines a little bit and colored him in using Photoshop. I am having a hard time forming an opinion on this – I don’t hate it, but I don’t find it very exciting. Then again, does it need to be ‘exciting?’ Lots of children’s illustrations do use very simplistic characters.. I’m just not used to drawing them.

I’m going to try some painting techniques, and record these in my sketchbook. I’d like to try watercolor and acrylic paints and see how it turns out – I think I might prefer the texture provided by the brushstrokes and paper, to give it more character.

Leave a Reply

